Brisbane Airport congratulates award winners

Brisbane Airport Corporation Pty Limited (BAC) has congratulated the winners of the 2010 Brisbane Airport Retailer of the Year Awards, held last night at the annual gala awards dinner at the Hyatt Regency, Sanctuary Cove.

The awards recognise outstanding performance and achievement from airport terminal retailers, who excel in a number of areas such as visual merchandising audits, customer service audits and training programs.

The gala dinner was attended by a record 60 people including special guest and legendary cricketer Kerry O'Keeffe.

BAC General Manager Commercial Services, Gert-Jan de Graaff, congratulated the winners, saying the competition was outstanding, considering what has been a tough year for retail operators.

“We were surprised at the quality of entrants and the high performance levels that have been achieved, especially considering the difficult financial climate the aviation industry, including retailers, had to operate in last year,” Mr de Graaff said.

“Furthermore, Brisbane Airport only recently unveiled its new, world-class International Terminal. With this new terminal we were given fantastic opportunities to improve the quality and standard of our retail outlets, and the winners of these awards have certainly lived up to these expectations.

“I would like to personally congratulate all the winners and entrants for the efforts, and thank them for maintaining such a high standard for retail in Brisbane Airport’s terminals.”

The Brisbane Airport Retailer of the Year Awards is a component of the BAC Retail Curriculumand includes five awards plus Honourable Mentions as well as the highly coveted Retailer of the Year Award.

The winner of the Retailer of the Year Award received a prize package worth $25,000, including a two month billboard advertising package, and training vouchers from the Australian Retailers Association.

Honourable Mentions

Ms Tanya Darcy (of AWPL)

Ms Michelle Partridge (The Nuance Group)

Ms Jessica Irvine (Hudson’s Coffee)

Mr Bradley Jewell (Spotless)

Food and Beverage Outlet of the Year

Winner: Subway


Customer Service Outlet of the Year

Winner: Travelex

Staff Member of the Year

Winner: Ms Aiko Adams (of Purely Merino)

General Retail Outlet of the Year

Winner: Sunglass Hut

Business Manager of the Year

Winner: Mr Terry Russell (of AWPL)

Retailer of the Year

Winner: Purely Merino